Qui sommes-nous ?


Mountain people in the world

Mountain territories represent 35% of the surface of continents (120 countries) and 15% of the world’s population (or almost a billion people).

The development of mountains is therefore a major challenge for the planet, particularly as these territories have a primary strategic role in many areas:

  • at the identity and cultural levels: handing down of traditions, knowledge, know-how, incomparable knowledge of the natural environment and its equilibrium, social organisation based on the values of effort and solidarity,
  • at the environmental level: principal supplier and reservoir of soft water, the largest reserve of biological diversity after the oceans, essential role, particularly as regards the forests, in the carbon cycle, support and management of space and countryside,
  • at the economic level: high quality and high specificity agro-alimentary produce, ores, hydroelectricity, small-scale produce, ecotourism, etc.

Around the world, mountains are under threat from several mortal dangers: ageing populations, migration, exodus and packing into inhumane and poverty-stricken peri-urban zones, rapid destruction of societies or communities, increasingly intensive use of natural resources, search for costly solutions to trading competition which these territories cannot support, recourse to dangerous production, etc.

This development entails more and more conflicts for the appropriation of resources or territories, for the control of production, for the preservation of identities and autonomies, for access to the same fundamental rights, etc.

Finally, because mountain territories are often border zones between states, they are often the scene of many wars or guerrilla warfare. Thus, 80% of the world’s conflicts are played out in mountain regions.

In order to preserve these global public goods, to retain populations on these territories, where their presence is indispensable, and to avoid them coming to cram into the megapolises, national and international officials should be persuaded of the need to create and implement appropriate policies and programmes.

This message will be even more widely heard when the mountain populations are organised and conscious of their role.

We invite you to support the action of the WMPA through your membership either individually or as a group, organisation or enterprise, or within the framework of a partnership to be determined together.

How was the WMPA born?

The WMPA was born out of the World Mountain Forum held at UNESCO (Paris) and in Chambéry (Savoie – Alps) in June 2000 on the initiative of the National Association of Elected Officials of the Mountains (ANEM) and the town of Chambéry. As a result of the Forum, which brought together 70 countries and 900 participants, it was decided to create the World Mountain People Association to make the voice of the mountain people and the expression of their desires heard.

Who are we?

Today, the WMPA is present in more than 70 countries, on four continents. It is organised into regional or national organisations, according to the major mountain regions of the world: Europe, Andean America, Central and Eastern Africa, Central Asia, Himalayas and South-East Asia.

So that it can better represent all the lifeblood of the mountains, the WMPA is made up of three bodies:

  • 1st body: elected officials, representatives of groups or communities, and other forms of local institutions in the mountain countries
  • 2nd body: NGOs, associations arising from civil society, socio-professional groups, small-scale or industrial enterprises, etc.
  • 3rd body: qualified persons (scientists, researchers or experts working alongside mountain populations) and any other person who wants to be involved in the mountains on an individual basis.

The Executive Board is made up of officials and representatives of the continents. It is responsible for co-ordinating the action carried out in the field and that managed by the working groups at international level. It defines and implements WMPA strategies and ensures its network becomes established.

The administrative team, based in Paris , is made up of a Director General who is assisted by a small team.

2_a-e1469026997289Presidency

2_b-e1469027119875Executive board

2_c-e1469027104255Permanent team

2_d-e1469027177676Operating

Qui sommes-nous ?


Les populations de montagne dans le monde

Les territoires de montagne représentent 35% de la superficie des continents (120 pays) et 15% de la population mondiale (soit près d’un milliard de personnes).

L’évolution de la montagne constitue donc un enjeu majeur pour la planète d’autant plus que ces territoires jouent un rôle stratégique de première évidence dans de nombreux domaines :

  • identitaire et culturel : transmission de traditions, de savoirs, savoir-faire, connaissance incomparable du milieu naturel et de son équilibre, organisation sociale fondée sur des valeurs d’effort et de solidarité,
  • environnemental : principal fournisseur et réservoir d’eau douce, plus grande réserve de diversité biologique après les océans, participation essentielle, notamment par sa forêt, au cycle du carbone,
  • économique : minerais, hydroélectricité, produits agro-alimentaires de haute qualité et à fortes spécificités, artisanat, éco-tourisme…

La montagne est menacée dans la plus grande partie de la planète par plusieurs dangers mortels : vieillissement des populations, migrations, exode et entassement dans des zones urbaines, déstructuration rapide des sociétés ou communautés, utilisation de plus en plus intensive des ressources naturelles, recherche de solutions coûteuses face à une compétition marchande que ne peuvent soutenir ces territoires, recours à des productions dangereuses…

Cette évolution entraîne de plus en plus de conflits pour l’appropriation des ressources ou territoires, pour le contrôle des productions, pour le maintien des identités et autonomies, pour l’accès aux mêmes droits fondamentaux, etc.

Enfin, parce qu’ils constituent souvent des zones frontalières entre les Etats, les territoires de montagne connaissent de nombreuses guerres ou guérillas. Ainsi 80% des conflits mondiaux ont pour théâtre des zones de montagne.

Pour préserver ces biens publics mondiaux, pour maintenir les populations sur des territoires où leur présence est indispensable et éviter qu’elles ne viennent au contraire grossir les mégapoles, il convient donc de persuader les acteurs nationaux et internationaux de la nécessité d’imaginer et de mettre en œuvre des politiques et des programmes adaptés.

Ce message sera d’autant mieux entendu que les populations de montagne seront organisées et conscientes de leur rôle.

Nous vous invitons à soutenir l’action de l’APMM par votre adhésion, soit à titre individuel, soit en tant que collectivité, organisation ou entreprise, soit dans le cadre d’un partenariat à déterminer en commun.

Comment est née l’APMM ?

L’APMM est née du premier Forum mondial de la montagne qui s’est tenu à l’UNESCO à Paris (France) et à Chambéry en Savoie (France) en juin 2000 à l’initiative de l’Association nationale des élus de la montagne (ANEM) et de la ville d’accueil. A l’issue du Forum qui a réuni 70 pays et 900 participants, il a été décidé de créer une association mondiale des populations de montagne pour faire entendre la voix des montagnards et l’expression de leur volonté.

Qui sont les membres de l’APMM ?

Aujourd’hui, l’APMM est présente dans plus de 70 pays, sur quatre continents. Elle est organisée en associations régionales ou nationales selon les grandes régions de montagne du monde : nord de l’Afrique, Amérique andine, Asie centrale et du sud-est et Europe.

Afin de mieux représenter l’ensemble des forces vives de la montagne, l’APMM est composée de trois collèges :

  • 1er collège : élus, représentants des collectivités ou communautés, et des autres formes d’institutions locales des pays de montagne
  • 2ème collège : ONG, associations issues de la société civile, groupements socioprofessionnels, entreprises artisanales ou industrielles, etc.
  • 3ème collège : personnalités qualifiées (scientifiques, chercheurs ou experts qui travaillent aux côtés des populations de montagne) et toute personne qui s’intéresse aux problématiques internationales de la montagne.

Le Bureau Exécutif est composé des responsables et représentants des continents. Il est chargé de coordonner les actions engagées sur le terrain et celles conduites par les groupes de travail au niveau international. Il définit et met en œuvre les stratégies de l’APMM et veille à l’enracinement de son réseau.
L’équipe administrative, basée à Paris, est composée d’un Directeur assisté d’une équipe restreinte.

 

2_a-e1469026997289Présidence

 

2_b-e1469027119875Bureau exécutif

 

2_c-e1469027104255Equipe permanente

 

2_d-e1469027177676Fonctionnement